0121 270 5100



Awarding Organisation

Skillsfirst Qualifications

Skillsfirst Level 4 Award in End-point Assessment (RQF)

Qualification summary

The introduction of end-point assessment (EPA) is one of the most significant changes in the apprenticeship reforms. It replaces the existing (SASE framework) model of continuous assessment resulting in qualifications.


This qualification has been developed for those people who want to become qualified end-point assessors, or are already end-point assessors, looking for a nationally-recognised confirmation of their role. Although there are no formal entry requirements for those undertaking this qualification, it is expected that they will have experience of providing feedback to learners, and/or direct reporting, as an assessor, IQA or as a manager. It must be noted that some apprenticeship standard assessment plans have an additional requirement for end-point assessors to hold assessor and/or IQA qualifications.


The qualification has also been designed to meet the needs of those who wish to gain not only an understanding of the end-point assessment process, but also the skills and competences to be the key part of the decision making process of apprenticeship outcomes for the new Apprenticeship Standards.


The modules contained within this qualification provide the knowledge and understanding an independent end-point assessor requires for undertaking end-point assessment and provides an understanding of the context and principles of end-point assessment and how to plan, grade and manage information relevant to the process, as well as an opportunity to demonstrate their competence to plan, co-ordinate and carry out an end-point assessment, manage grading information, decisions and learner feedback relevant to an end-point assessment.


Having achieved this qualification you could progress on to the:


•  Skillsfirst Level 4 Award in Externally Assuring the Quality of Assessment Processes and Practice (RQF) or the
•  Skillsfirst Level 5 Diploma in Operational and Departmental Management (RQF)



Related Documents:

Skillsfirst Level 4 Award in End-point Assessment (RQF) Handbook


Qualification structure

To achieve this qualification learners must achieve both mandatory modules in Group M.


The total qualification time (TQT) is 125

Minimum Guided Learning Hours (GLH) are 73

Qualification number

Qualification reference

Registration start date

Qualification review date






Group M - Mandatory modules

mod. no.

mod. no.

Unit title

GLH value



Understanding the principles and practices of end-point assessment




Undertake end-point assessment



To find out more about our registration/certification fees, contact our customer services team on

0121 270 5100 or email us



DHL Qualifications

EPAA4 - Skillsfirst Level 4 Award in End-point Assessment (RQF)